Why Pray?

Photo by Rodolfo Clix on Pexels.com

When you pray, do you ever feel like God is not listening? That God doesn’t care? That God is punishing you by remaining quiet?

Me, too.

I mean, how many times have we asked for the same thing over and over, only to hear or see nothing concerning it? Even when it isn’t anything huge—like moving a mountain or world peace, it still doesn’t seem to get addressed by God.

In Matthew 7:7-8, Jesus says, “Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives, and he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks it will be opened.” (NASB95)

In David Guzik’s commentary on Matthew 7, he says, there is “A threefold description of prayer, ask, seek, and knock. Progressively more intense. Persistent prayer glorifies God, expresses dependance upon Him, and aligns our heart more with His.” I don’t know about you, but when I revisit my prayer’s, I rarely glorify God or express my dependency on Him. I just want what I want.

Is this where we fall short?

Matthew Henry comments on the same Scripture with, “Ask as a beggar asks. Tell of your wants and burdens, ask for support and supply of grace according to His promise. Enquire of God. Seek as for a thing of value we have lost. Knock at Christ’s door persistently until it is opened to you.”

Personally, I have prayed for the health of my family and direction for these times, neither has been answered to my knowledge. With prayer, I am to align my heart with God’s. Surely, God would want the headache pain to subside, energy to return, so that my wife would feel relief. Surely, God wants me to fulfill His will for me in these times, giving me clear directions. Surely. What could be His purpose in silence?

The prophet Habakkuk wondered the same. His concerns were that God could surely see the evil in Israel, yet He was doing nothing about the abuse to His chosen people. Habakkuk wanted to know why He was allowing it to happen.

God wanted Habakkuk, and us, to dwell on His truths and principles: His character, the good He has done in the past, and His love, mercy, goodness, power, and most of all, His patience. God’s answer is to stand on these. To persevere. Remembering His actions, going forward in confidence, following His examples, knowing He will guide you. Even now, because you are His child, He is working in your behalf.

Remember the old adage, “It’s not what you know, but who you know.”

Don’t stop praying for what you want. Be persistent, be bold, and expect God to answer. Pay attention to your daily life looking for God’s answers. Jot down your prayers and then note what God has done in your life to answer them. It may not be what you wanted, but there will be an answer.

Heavenly Father, Our lives are hard, and You know we need help. We earnestly turn to you in our times of need, desperate for Your involvement. Like Habakkuk, we ask how long will we call for help, and You will not hear? Your character is just and Holy. You have promised to answer when we call. Patience will be our watchword; confidence will be our posture as we stand on Your attributes. Strengthen us in our prayer life as we continue to praise Your Holy Name. Through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

P.S. As I listened today to my pastor’s sermon, he told me what God wants me doing in these times. I now have direction. See, patience pays.

Soli Deo Gloria

Leave a comment